I’ll try being nicer if you try being smarter!

Please read this. Please. Read this now.

If you have read it (it’s right here), then you now understand most of me. Folks, I’m an introvert. A snarky one, maybe, but it is a huge part of me and impacts my life every single day.

I am a textbook introvert. Social gatherings seriously tire me. They usually start by me being dragged kicking and screaming into them in the first place. I don’t like small talk, it drains me. I often look angry (see the title of the blog), I don’t like being interrupted, it jolts me into an annoyed state. I’m not a quick thinker, I’m not dumb by any means, I just take my time to think stuff through. I prefer my company to yours, no matter how lovely you are. I don’t do superficial. I am a loner by choice, and yes, this is possible. No, I don’t want to go to the club, no matter how much you whine and try to convince me it will be fun. It won’t be fun, it will be draining, it will be tiring, it will depress me, and I will feel awkward standing there all night. People will ask me what’s wrong, why I’m not having fun, how come I don’t want to dance. I can’t understand people who need to talk all the time. My boss across the hall is ALWAYS on the phone, chit-chatting away, or popping into my office to state stupid useless things that I don’t care about. If I leave the boyfriend for three minutes and come back, he’s on his phone. I don’t understand. I’d rather read, or cross stitch or just sit and stare at a wall than go out for coffee. I really don’t feel any pressure or need to be out on a Friday night. I don’t care that this is what people ‘do’. Good for people.

I get stressed easily, I get bothered listening to people’s completely inane and useless conversations. I’m not shy, I’m quiet, there’s a difference. I shouldn’t be regarded as a social boob simply because I prefer to be anti-social. The fact that I don’t march around with a bloody banner every time I complete a task at work doesn’t mean I’m not working. It just means that I’ve moved on to the next one, and prefer praising myself rather than making a big deal out of it. Big deals mean people. I don’t like people.

And yes, I get stuck in my head. You will receive a glassed-over look from me if you jolt me out of my thoughts. It will take me a second to wake up. And I’m slow at making decisions, cuz I’m running through every damned scenario, being oh-so-careful to think it through, unlike all you ‘act then think’ extroverts.

Why? Because! I am an introvert! Read the damned article! The article is funny, but true as well. Why am I on this kick? Well, two-fold. First, I’m feeling particularly withdrawn today. Second, I found and am currently reading a book called ‘The Introvert Advantage’ by somebodyoranother.

Actually, here is another great post about introversion. And this person makes reference to the book above (total coincidence). Check it out, it’s very similar to how I would write about it if I wasn’t so snarky and blunt.

I’m rather tired of people (most of whom are extroverts) thinking I’m just a rude bitch. I’m aware I have my rude bitch moments. But mostly, as an introvert, I just want you to shut the hell up and get out of my space. You coming to talk to me uninvited and with no specific purpose is like me forcing you (if you’re an extrovert) to not speak all day. It’s torture. It seriously drains me. There is scientific evidence supporting this fact (it’s in my book and on the interweb…..and hey, if some boob made a webpage about it, it MUST be true, right?). It actually takes me a lot of energy to interact with you, which is why I avoid it and don’t enjoy it. I actually get refuelled (they have a more sciencey term for it, of course) when I am quiet, by myself, or enjoying a small gathering with a conversation I enjoy. I need time away from you, no matter how charming you think yourself to be.

We’re a misunderstood bunch, us innies. In my case, I come off as a snob. But now, finally, the scientific world is backing up my claim to fame. It’s not me……it’s just my face.

Comments on: "Maybe it’s NOT just my face…." (7)

  1. greenmetropolis said:

    Bwahahaha. Innie.
    (Just like a bellybutton!)
    Yes, that was the joke, thank you.

  2. Chris is an introvert also, he has always said that being married to such an extrovert works for him in many ways but the thing that makes it hard is all my friends and all the visitors. Now that we have a house, Chris’ private, quiet domain is our office in the basement. Essentially it takes up the entire basement, so he has all kinds of room for quiet and himself and his work and his thoughts. When extroverts come over that have no idea how to handle an introvert, they instantly think he is being rude by not dropping what he’s doing to swing his chair around and greet them. Why would he greet them anyway? I’m the one that brought them over and he’s not interested in making new friends.

    I am sending this article and this blog post to every single one of my friends that don’t get Chris.

    Thanks Talea, and Chris says thanks too. Sort of. 😉

  3. Awwwwww! I love your comment Maytina! Thanks!
    Nobody seems to understand that not everybody enjoys talking it up all the time. And EVERYBODY thinks I’m rude.
    I thought I’d enlighten the very extrovert-heavy world with some views from the other, quieter side.
    After all, who would listen to all of you extroverts and your incessent rambling if not for us?

  4. And kudos to you for accomodating Chris!

  5. Hehe. Exactly, we have to be good to our introverts or no one would ever hear each other. We’d all be talking over ourselves with no one to listen. That and it’s so not fair to be uncomfortable in your own house, you put it perfectly when you said forcing the innies to be outies is like forcing the outies to be quiet!

  6. Wow, this is totally how i feel, i am the same exact way… and i have been struggling with for my entire life pretty much.

    the worst part is that most extroverts do not understand us at all. which makes it even hard to deal with.

    good post!

  7. Reading your post, and links about introversion, I realized that fit me perfectly. I always thought of myself as anti-social, and I always think you know, in six years when I’m 30, I just don’t see a partner or children.

    All my life I have been dragged to parties. And every year when people (most likely extroverts) asked me what I wanted for Christmas and I said, “Books” they looked at me as if I had just sprouted a third eye! I love being an introvert, but I hate people trying to change me or miss-understanding me!

    I love being an introvert too. I love being stuck in my thoughts, I love observing the world, I love listening and reading and thinking.
    But I HATE people who think that I’m a rude bitch because of the things I like to do. I’m not, I’m just me.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

