I’ll try being nicer if you try being smarter!

So Saskatchewan is in the Grey Cup (Canuck version of the Superbowl, with fewer nipple extravaganzas) against Winnipeg (boo Winnipeg, no one likes you).

And the Grey Cup this year is in Toronto. And I’m LOVING it! I was just out and about for this evening and let me tell you, the downtown core is filled with my prairie people! I’m going crazy, I love it, I love my folks from back home! So far, I’ve approached six total strangers and talked to them about Sask and wished them a good time here in Toronto.

People from Sask love to talk about Sask, and they’re all advertising the fact by walking around in green wigs, green shirts, green toques, and Roughriders jerseys.

I’m loving it. I don’t think I’ll sleep tonight, I’ll just roam the city trying to connect with my prairie counterparts and talk good old prairie things, like beer, wheat, tractors, weather and cow tipping.

Oh yeah, Go Roughriders! Btw, the title of the post is the first line of a song I remember singing back home in 1989, the last time the Riders won the cup. I don’t remember the rest of the song. If you’re from Sask, feel free to educate me in the comments section.

Comments on: "Green is the colour, football is the game!" (8)

  1. Haha wow, sounds exciting. Football is the best, it just sounds a lot cooler in Canada. My team won yesterday. Except their color is black. Yay black.

    Loco

  2. Green is good. Go Green!
    Nice avatar…I’m glad that the dog was invited to the game.

  3. Chorus:
    Green is the colour, football is the game
    We’re all together, and winning is our aim
    So cheer us on through the sun and rain
    Saskatchewan Roughriders is our name

    Verse 1:
    Let’s show our pride in the Green & White
    We will fight, Green & White
    Sing loud and clear till the game is won
    The best is yet to come

    Verse 2:
    Here at Taylor Field we are number one
    We’re the best, East or West
    We’ll give our all till the game is done
    Stand up and sing everyone

  4. I totally understand how you feel! I flew back to the maritimes from Stoon this morning and the whole plan was filled with very loud, green people. It was fantastic (though I am very glad I grabbed an extra-large coffee at the airport to combat the martinis from yesterday night…otherwise the singing may have killed me!) When I switched planes in Toronto I seriously considered just staying in town.

  5. greenmetropolis said:

    I spent the night subjected to an old fashioned family viewing of Ratatouille. I wish I had been watching football instead…

  6. Although i’m not a Canadian, I do understand love for football and love for hometown!

    I hope your team wins the grey cup and you get shitfaced drunk celebrating in the streets.

    don’t take the blue pills if anyone offers them though, just lookin out….

  7. sexualtrex said:

    I love being around my own too. Anytime I run into a Steelers fan it’s a good day.

  8. Always good to read about soccer and football.

    Can I ask though – how did you get this picked up and into google news?

    Very impressive, is it something that is just up to Google or you actively created?

    Obviously this is a popular blog with great data so well done on your seo success..

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

