I’ll try being nicer if you try being smarter!

So it appears I am moving. Again. At least this time it’s within the same city. I have no plans to leave my beloved Toronto, though the boyfriend does.

Le gasp! Are we breaking apart after almost 9 years? Uh, hells no. Suckers. He just found out yesterday that his dreams are coming true and he is in medical school as of September……5 hours away.

Obviously we knew when he applied that there’d be a chance he’d get in, but we just figured we’d deal with that when we came to it. Well, it arrived last night. We’d touched on it before and it was pretty much no question that I will not be moving with him.

I have an unbelievably difficult time making friends, and now that I have the most amazing ones on the planet (they’re way better than yours, I’m tellin’ ya) I’m not willing to let them go. I’m not willing to move to a smaller place. I’m not willing to adjust to a new job. I’m not willing to relearn streets and where grocery stores are. I would move up there to sit at home with no friends, no familiarity and no family, while he was at school all day. Then I’d have to be quiet at night while he studied and I went stir crazy. All in all, it’s a bad plan.

I’m not sad about it and neither is he. It would be such a bad idea for both of us for me to move (I’m seriously a headcase when it comes to shit like that), that it wasn’t even a discussion. We’ve been apart WAAAAAYYY more often than we’ve been together. I met him online in 1999 (before it was cool or even remotely acceptable to do that), and obviously lived far away. Moved to Ontario, lived with him for four months. Lived in Waterloo for four months while he was in Toronto. Moved to Saskatoon for four months, he stayed here. Moved back to Waterloo/Saskatoon for three years while he was in Toronto. Lived with him for a year, lived in a seperate place for a year, and now have lived in the same place again for the last year. We’ve got the long distance thing down pat.

Of course though, with him leaving, I have to leave this apartment. I can’t afford the rent on my own. Which means I get to move. Again. For the 8 millionth time in 10 years. Fuckity fuck fuck.

I can’t even convey how much I hate moving. HATE. IT. Ugh. And apartment hunting will suck a bit too, since I’m ‘on a budget’. Pfffft. Whatever.

I’ve already secured the couch and the bed and one of the bookshelves. Im pretty sure I’ll get the dining room table and chairs too, cuz he hates it.

However, he gets the dog. This breaks my heart, but it’s only right. I’m away from the house for 10 hours at a time at least, each weekday. I can’t make her wait that long. He will only have classes in the morning and have all afternoon to take her out. Plus, she adores him and follows him around like a….little lost puppy….She gets depressed when he leaves town for a few days for a conference, I can’t expect her to live with me. I’m going to miss her like mad, it kills me, I don’t even want to think about it. Who knows, maybe I’ll move out there for a year or so and not miss four years of her little life, but we’ll have to wait and see.

Ugh. The thought of all of this is tiring me out. Hunting for a place, packing, moving, unpacking, arranging services, rerouting my mail, reacquainting myself with a neighbourhood, figuring out the commute time, getting comfy in a new place, losing my Zoey dog and the boyfriend.

Haha, this post sucks. It’s really gone way downhill from where I thought it’d be.

So yeah. Moving sucks. Any tips on making it suck less? My strategy up until now was often just to abandon my place for the new one. I’ve left so much shit in my wake, it isn’t funny. I just up and leave. Fuck it, it’s only stuff. I’ve left beds, desks, kitchen tables, TV’s, dishes, CD players, computers, dressers, futons, chairs…just cuz I’m too damned lazy to move it all. Hahaha. But now we have nice stuff and that’s not an option.

This time, it’s all gotta come with me. Wish me luck in the apartment hunt and pray that I can find some competent movers. And oh yeah….yay boyfriend for making it in!!

Comments on: "One more time for kicks!" (13)

  1. Congratulations on your sucky situation. Hopefully you can get some of those killer cool friends to help out in your relocation. Perhaps you can all pitch in and start a commune. ๐Ÿ˜› I’m sorry I don’t have any real helpful advise, but I do wish you the best of luck in getting it all done ASAP as painlessly as possible. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    They’ll help, oh yes, they may or may not know that yet but whatever.

  2. Congrats to the man! How exciting! I was tired just from reading the “lived together, moved, moved again, apart, together, moved, moved…” Shoooot! I don’t know how you do it!

    The only tip I can think to offer on making the move better is to do a little at a time starting now so it wont seem so overwhelming .. but you probably already know that.

    Who knows, maybe your new place will have a little garden area for you? I get the feeling you are going to be fine; you are mover and a shaker!

    You just got me so excited!!! That’s it, that’s my one and only qualification, that I can get a piece of earth with the place!
    It is tiring, thinking about it, I’m so tired of never having a place to settle into.

  3. Good for The Boyfriend! I don’t have much moving tips, because I have only ever lived in Napanee, Toronto, and Montreal, so I can’t help you there. But yeah, moving sucks… not when you are moving out of Napanee.

    Good luck finding a place to live though!

    Thanks!

  4. dontdatethatdude said:

    I hate moving too, ugh! I also have no words of wisdom. I do want to say good-luck and congrats to your boyfriend. That’s quite and achievement. And a side note, I’m glad to see you didn’t give up your life to follow your man! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nope, don’t have to do that, this isn’t 1950. I know a lot of couples who are apart nowadays, it’s the way it is in these here crazy times!

  5. Congrats for the BF! And apartment hunting blows arse. Good luck ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you (on his behalf). And yes, yes it does. Especially in overpriced Toronto.

  6. Congrats to the man – way cool. and, as for moving? no advice but I would sure think it fun to come HELP YOU! I know, I’m a strange one. I enjoy moving. OR… I’ve convinced myself I enjoy moving cuz I don’t have any other reasons to explain why I’ve done it so often. So… If I could go with you as you apt shop, help you pack, oo la la! I would. Really. Since that is rather doubtful, I may only wish you the very best of luck and have a great glass of red wine as you pack. and another couple when you UNPACK. OH! and I think it really great that you two get along apart and together and get through it all. I love that.

    You like helping people move??? You must be a highly coveted friend. Next thing you’ll be telling me is that you have a pickup truck that you donate to the cause too! In that case, I’ll pay for you to come up here!
    Much wine will be involved, I’m certain. Housewarming gifts should be wine. Though I do need a coffee maker too.
    Yeah, we get along all over the country it seems. We’re just good like that! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Ok so duh we’ll all help you.

    We’ve all moved around, though I think you and I have moved the most out of everyone…so we can all figure out ways to help. I’ll even leave the kids for a day to help you with whatever it is you need done that day. Oh! And I’ll bake your faves so when we’re all tired and hungry we can have a feast at my house! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Awwwww, you’ll help?! I didn’t even expect you to, May! I know you have your kidlings and all, but I might take you up on it.
    I have to figure out WHERE to move to…..put your thinking cap on for me, please.

  8. Well…congrats to the boyfriend. I’m sorry that you aren’t taking Zoey. Boo hoo. It will be hard but you know that it’s best for her. On the moving bit – yeah, it sucks…sucks donkey balls. But, I like to look at it in a positive way (big surprise here) – new place, new arrangement of furniture, maybe a couple of new incidental purchases (yes, just a few). You know, things that you need since you most certainly shared some things with the BF and he took them with him. I’m all about newness & freshness. Aren’t I just a frickin’ breath of fresh air. Gag.

    And seriously, if I had a passport (so I could get back into the damn USofA – not that I want to, but I kinda have some responsibilities here) I would be in the T to the O in 3 hrs. to help you move – with no less than a case of wine. Ha! Whoa…can you tell I’ve already been sippy sipping tonight? Nah!

    Anywhoooo…that’s my two cents and I’m sticking to it. I wish you the best!

    So get your damned passport! You’d be a blast!! You, me and some Royal Bitch……and oh yeah, tons of my boxes and shit.
    Though I just realized that this time, since I’m not just abandoning all my worldly possessions, I might have to hire professional movers. I’m not moving a bed and a couch and heavy bookcases, no siree bob. So I won’t need your help to move, but still feel free to show up and we can drink while watching sweaty men haul my stuff around and follow my directions.

  9. oh…ps: scary cat!

    It’s not scary, it’s just it’s face!
    Get it?!
    Hardy har har.

  10. Congrats for the boyfriend, and mhh, sorry (about you moving yet again)? I hate moving also. I’ve moved 3 times in the past 4 years, and the whole process sucks like a fox, a slutty fox.

  11. Awww, I’m sorry I’m so late to the game, but I do see you, like, 8 billion times a day. I’m so glad the boy is all over me baking him a cake. It’s too bad he’s not going into surgery, cause I could have made some creative stuff. Gummy worms go well with cake. Anyways, I’ll help you move and all that, that’s what friends do. Just like they go to bus stations to buy tickets and have to see big jiggly asses. Thanks pal ๐Ÿ˜›

  12. Sorry to hear that you have to move, although congrats on the boyfriend’s getting into medical school. As far as the actual moving goes, I worked as a packer for a moving company for almost 2 years and my boyfriend is a packer/mover, so if you need any tips, I’m your girl! I also have moved myself many times in the past dozen years and never used a professional mover myself. I hate moving too, but the good thing is that it is always fun having someplace new (or new to you) once you get settled. Oh, and sorry to hear you have to give up your dog for a while. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Bummer. Could you maybe get a cat to keep you company?

  13. […] Pix: 06/07/08   6 comments The following was inspired by Talea’s recent post. She was asking for tips. At first I didn’t think I could be of any service, but […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

