I’ll try being nicer if you try being smarter!

I’m in a serious, reflective mood tonight.

I was inspired by a speech I saw. In case you’ve been under a rock today, may I be the first to tell you that the world has lost an inspirational human being who had much to teach and not enough time to do it in.

Dr. Randy Pausch died yesterday, July 25th, 2008. He only became well known after he found out he was dying. He was asked by Carnegie Mellon University to deliver a Last Lecture. You can find that lecture here:

Clear an hour and 16 minutes from your schedule and watch this video.

I will guarantee you that I will never have that much poise and grace, humility and general ‘pulled togetherness’ when my day comes. What he actually says affected me much less than the between-the-lines stuff. The way in which he said it. The way in which he chose to deal with it.

It made me stop and think, which I think was his intended purpose. At least, that’s what I took away from it. I believe that when you are dying, you will not regret what you have done, but instead what you haven’t (as the old cliche goes).

There’s been something I’ve been wanting to do for a while now. After a few tears and a newly gained respect for this individual, I’m going ahead with it. Yes, I am motivated by fear. Fear that I will one day think that I shoulda, woulda, coulda.

On my blogoversary post, I mentioned that I often have things to write but don’t feel comfortable putting them here, since they don’t fit my general ‘theme’. Now, this blog is VERY true to who I am. I really am snarky, sarcastic and blunt, good bad or otherwise, it is what it is.

But there’s another HUGE part of me that doesn’t fit into that. The part of me that was affected by my childhood and subsequent occurrences, illnesses and repercussions. I’ve decided I want to share those experiences in a different venue. It’s here, if you care to see it. You don’t have to. I just thought that since I share all sorts of other embarassing shit about myself on here, I may as well throw that one into the pot too. I value transparency and honesty and I’d be a hypocrite if I didn’t share it.

And that’s all I have to say about that for now.

Really though. Go watch the video. Take from it what he doesn’t say, or take whatever you will from it. I was fine until the very last line, which killed me and required some kleenex. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Thank you, Dr. Pausch. Rest in Peace.

Comments on: "Inspiration and New Beginnings" (10)

  1. Hi Talea – I read your other post and found it very interesting – I would love to know more. You certainly aren’t a ‘crazy’ dear but obviously need to get a lot off your chest. Do so! How has this actually affected your life?

    I am sure that you feel a little better now that you have started writing about it … I hope it cleanses you. There is absolutely no need at all to feel embarrassed about it.

    Chin up girl! I’m rooting for you. Hugs.

    Thanks wendz. How has it affected my life? Oh, the easier question would be how hasn’t it? Well, stay tuned! Hehehe. It’s to help me, yes, but I really want it to be a resource as well, a place to turn and be able to relate to.

  2. I haven’t clicked the link to your other blog yet, but I’m going to as soon as I submit this. I just wanted to say that I was also inspired by Dr. Randy Pausch and his awesome speech. It was one of the rare things of substance I actually discussed with my sister even. Thanks for posting the video and for mentioning his passing.

    I find once in a while listening to someone who is in a completely different place with you is a truly amazing chance. A chance to look through different coloured lenses and learn and see what you normally wouldn’t.

  3. maleesha said:

    I didn’t watch the video yet but I read about it. What an inspiration! I am intrigued by your other blog’s title so I am off to investigate…

    It was an inspiration….I have a feeling that even though he denies it, it was partly his point…to inspire others.

  4. I’ve watched another lecture of his, very similar, but more lengthy. Truly awe inspiring and tear jerking. Living on the road I had not hear of his passing. He was an amazing man and will be missed by many. Thank you for sharing. Now I’m off to check out your new blog.

    I’m thinking of watching more of the carnegie mellon series…..see what others had to say in the hypothetical case that it was their last lecture.

  5. Will make time this week to watch the video. Thumbs up on your other blog, I already read your first post, will coment later. 🙂

    I look forward to your comment….I have a feeling you may have some insight or at least an opinion on it.

  6. Goddammit, I read this while sitting at reception. Now I’m hiding my weepy face behind the computer screen. I’ll watch this later when even the thought doesn’t make me blubber up.

    Awww, I’m sorry. You should have seen me the night I watched it. I insisted on talking about it with the boyfriend and I was a blubbering disaster.

  7. I’m so glad you posted this video, I plan to come back and watch it tomorrow. I’d heard about this lecture after he passed and really wanted to see it. Thanks for the reminder. I’ll be back.

    You really really should watch it. Very few things really get into my brain and this was one that most certainly did. You realize as you’re watching it, ‘This man is dying. And is still willing to take time to impart his lessons to us.’ It puts your shit in perspective pretty quickly.

  8. Wow. Thanks Talea. I’m speechless.

    Here’s the link to the YouTube page:

  9. QueenBitch said:

    your video link dont work no more but the above link does.
    omg so many times i had tears in my eyes.
    your right its definitly the last line tht does it!!

  10. […] So here is Talea’s post for your reading pleasure.  […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

