I’ll try being nicer if you try being smarter!

So I’ve been absent again. I toy around with the idea of abandoning this blog every once in a while, and I was thinking about it again, cuz lately I haven’t had much to write about.

Then a day or two ago, I realized why.

Because dudes, I have been in a GREAT FUCKING MOOD for like, two months straight. I feel like I’m on E, 24/7. If I knew what that felt like, that is. Everything’s great, everything’s wonderful, life is beautiful, blah blah blah.

I sit at work and just smile like a fool. ME! My previous benchmark of ‘retardedly good mood’ has now become the norm. The standard. I mean, except when I lost my shit on that client a while back and went and got tanked on a work night and then bought half of 7-11. But whatevs. Shit happens, right?

And I use this blog to vent a lot, hence the lack of material recently.

But here’s a few quick snippets:

– I was bestowed with the honour of taking out Crafty Friend’s two wee ones trick or treating last Friday (with her and Em, naturally). It was my first trick or treating experience that didn’t involve waddling through snowbanks in suits 3 sizes too big in order to accomodate my full body parka and ski pants. It was a blast, full of hilarity, candy and great convo’s. It was followed by copious amounts of pizza and even more disgusting amounts of Creamy Garlic dipping sauce. Mmmmmm, dipping sauce.

– So we all remember my nightmare of getting a driver’s license. Well. Turns out it’s a helluva lot easier to get a passport than a license. Go figure. Welcome to Canada, here, have a passport! (whoah Talea, keep the politics offline!). But in my passport photo, I resemble a very bloated….somebody. Not me. This was of course after the passport photo guy fiasco. I may have been in mid scowl, maybe that’s why I look so….abnormal.

– Now that I have that passport, I am begrudgingly going to Texas next week. Please. Kill me now. I do not travel well. I don’t sleep in hotels. I don’t like new people. I don’t like big groups (this is training, it’s a big group). I don’t like being out of my element. Plus, who KNOWS what kinds of shenanigans my ghost will get into when I’m gone?

– It was my mom’s bday recently. I didn’t call her. I can’t decide how I feel about that, but it was very much a conscious decision.

– Work has finally, mercifully, miraculously seemed to slow down. For the first time in a year, it seems (knock on wood) that the remnants of our buyout and my previous manager have settled down. It’s been so lovely, I can’t even tell you.

– I’ve been in such a great mood that the daylight savings ‘fall back’ hasn’t even gotten me down. I’m all, ‘oh, the darkness is so nice and lovely. It’s so relaxing and calming’.

I cannot for the life of me figure out what is going on with my mood. Like, WTF. Who am I??

I have a theory though. I feel it’s a fairly large coincidence and therefore I’m labelling it, ‘the cause’ to my happy lovely times.

A few months back, I was too lazy to go to the doctor’s office to renew my prescription for the pill. Yes. That pill. I hate doctors, I didn’t want to go. So….I didn’t. And I still haven’t. Pretty much right after that, my mood skyrocketed. I shit you not.

Do I know why that happened? No, I’m not well versed enough in the biochemistry of it and of me and of my other meds and shit. Do I care why it happened? No. What I do know is that I will never ever pop one of those pills ever again.

Crazy hormones, I’m done with you!

Was that TMI? Me hopes not. Oh well. If you’ve not yet been offended by my blog, it’s about damned time anyways.

Comments on: "You know me…the happy, smiley one!" (12)

  1. Yeah it might be a little TMI, but that’s OK. I’ve come to expect no less from your excellent blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

    So, um, that ain’t no THEORY Talea. The hormone-mood connection is established factology. Fo shizzle. Those damned pills just don’t work for everyone, though there are so many different kinds now. Different dosages and stuff. There are certainly plenty of other choices for birth control that don’t mess with your endocrine system … a little TMI from me ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’d rather go to the seventh circle of hell and lick the devil’s asshole than go to Texas. Sorry. I hope your trip there is as positive and profitable as can be.

    If you happen to see the president, please flip him your best Canadian bird, OK?

    Well, if David says it’s fo shizzle, it must be true….yo.
    And dude, I’m SO NOT into going to Texas. I put up a fight to get out of it, but I was essentially told, ‘shut up, you’re going.’ So, I guess I’m going.
    And if I see Bush while I’m down there, I’m totally kicking him in the back of the kneecap.

  2. TMI? WTH is that? ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t think those of us in the inner circle ever shared TMI! WE lay it out right smack straight up..that’s why I love this group.

    Once again your posts gave me a LOL time. I can always count on you for that.

    Sorry bout your luck on having to go to TEX-ASS! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am still laughing at David up there. I’m not sure I’d go that far if I had to pick but well I’d do a lot of things before going to TEX-ASS on my own free will.

    Can’t help you with the birth control thing. I’m a frigid bitch weaning off a benzo who hasn’t had sex with her poor husband for 4 fuckless years. (ask him he’ll tell you what day it was/time/minute/second/nanosecond/wind direction/wind speed) I am not even joking. So I’ve no need for BC. BUT the benzo weaning has effected my moods. Now which one of my personalities would you like to talk to? Just call me Sybil! Doctor wants me to “try yet another one”.. FTS! NO way! I’ve ridden the hell highway with every friggin mood adjuster there is.
    …Ok didn’t mean to start taking over the comment section here so I’ll stop…I’m still all worked up over this whole election commotion.
    I’m so happy those poor little girls of Obamas are finally gonna get a damn puppy! HURRAH!

    Yeah, I care not about TMI, really. I ams what I ams, ya know?
    I have no doubt getting off of benzo would be a bitch. Hang in there hun, I know what it’s like when your brain decides to deceive you, but I promise it can be beaten. And good for you not taking your doc’s advice. FTS indeed. People fighting through something know more about it than their doctor ever will.
    And I’m SO going to refer to it as Tex-ASS while I’m down there. I’ll blame it on my Canadian accent and nobody will be any wiser.

  3. Misery was one of the main reasons I ditched the Pill years ago. I won’t regale you with my current choice but it beats that daily torture.

    I had no idea this was common. Seriously. No idea. Why isn’t this more well known? Or, why didn’t I know??

  4. Just like Texas, the pill just ain’t natural, and I’m not a fan of either.

    On a lighter note, please don’t ditch your blog. You don’t have to stick to a regular blogging schedule for me to enjoy it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Awwww, shucks. I’ll stick around! I’m kind of internet famous and I like it! Hahaha.
    Yeah, I’ve determined that I hate the pill and I’m pretty sure Tex-ass isn’t going to make my top 10 either.

  5. QueenBitch said:

    I’ve had that b4 with the pill thingee bob. Some days I felt like a fucken emo like my life was about to end. I broke a glass once and cried about for an hour. AN HOUR.
    Thankfully I decided to switch pills for some other reason and noticed straight away I was happier. Not like a happy happy thing but not crying over a fucken glass.

    Hope you make it out of Texas ok ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m so glad I brought this up! I had no idea that the pill was fucking with EVERYONE ELSE too! I know what you mean. I never cried for an hour over a glass, but I had emo-moments and I didn’t like them. As soon as I was off it, it was all good.

  6. I stopped taking the pill after I went totally manic depressive for a year. Best decision I ever made. The day after I stopped taking it, my mood leveled out.

    I’m starting to realize that this may have been one of the best decisions I ever made…..though it was more of a non-decision. I’m so happy that I’m not even pissed I didn’t do it sooner!
    Again, why didn’t I know about this??

  7. I’m glad to hear you’ve been in a good mood for whatever the reason!!!

    I do think the hormones in those pills have a lot to do with it though. And you know, a blog doesn’t have to be just for ranting. You are a good writer and don’t need to be limited that way. And I totally agree with Peter Parkour.

    One good thing about Texas – it will be warmer there than where you are now. I’ve only been there once though so I can’t think of anything else. LOL.

    It probably will be warmer in Tex-ass. Though it’s been bloody gorgeous up here lately.
    And thank you Teeni, I just have to learn how to make the adjustment to a ‘happy’ blogger now. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I’ll do it gladly.

  8. I cannot take the pill for that same reason. It makes me insane. That is my belief…birth control pills work because they make you so insane no one wants to sleep with you. I am glad that you feel better though!

    No shit, eh?! Nobody wants to bang the crazy chick! Well, I am crazy no more!! Mahahaha.

  9. lol’ing my ass off @ david! and java, i totally hear your FTS on the benzo’s (though my friend was ‘pam,’ hehehe). four types was enough for me, fuck that and pass the dutchie please and thanks ๐Ÿ˜‰

    and talea, you already know what i’m going to say.

    your mom sucks.

    and you having to go to texas for a week sucks!

    boo!

    Duuuuude, I’m going to miss you SO MUCH!!!!!!
    This sucks. Just like my mom.
    >:|

  10. ROFLMAO…Emerald!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    oh my gosh I can’t stop laughing!

    Yeah…..Em’s alright….I guess. Ha.

  11. The minute I stopped the pill I became pregnant with my twins *wink* ONE OF THE BEST THINGS THAT HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME. I’m sure it wasn’t just the fact that I came off the pill, I’m sure having sex in the shower (I KNOW for a fact they were conceived there- it was so,,,… mind blowingly good) – but hey, now that was TMI sista! ๐Ÿ™‚

    “If youโ€™ve not yet been offended by my blog, itโ€™s about damned time anyways.” I love this.

    The day you close shop will not happen either. I’d have to drive up to Canada and kick some Canadian ass. You don’t want me to bring that pain do ya? I threaten a lot, don’t I? Yes, if you- JavaJunkee “double J” and I lived anywhere near one another there might be trouble.

    I’m smiling from ear to ear at your apparent happiness- everyone strives to feel that- you got it girl! I’d still read this blog whether your happy, crabby, and everything in between so I hope you stick around, like, forever ๐Ÿ˜‰

    That was TOTALLY TMI and I loved it!!!!
    I’m glad that years later, you still remember how good it was!! Hahaha. Nice.
    I so wish we lived near each other. Good times would be had, indeed. And I won’t quit, I promise. I like my internet minions too much.

  12. yeah she’s driving up and she’s bringing me and the cane queen with here. (start packing joan).

    I’ve got like 6 blogs that I read faithfully everyday and sometimes hope the google reader is wrong and that you have really posted something new. But I like the number 6 and if you would stop posting that would take me down to 5 and I don’t like that number as much as 6. So for the love of 6 do NOT stop writing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

