I’ll try being nicer if you try being smarter!

Warm Summer Nights

Today was freakishingly warm for this neck of the woods…..27 and beee-autiful. Accordingly, tonight is freakishly warm and very reminiscent of a gorgeous warm summer night.

I was walking home from the gym and remembered just how much I LOVE these nights.  The temperature is perfect, you’re in no hurry at all and everything seems absolutely possible and never out of reach.

I feel so alive and human in warm weather and specifically warm nights. Living in a cold climate for a good chunk of the year, you don’t take tolerable temperatures forgranted. Personally, I don’t feel very human-like when trudging through calf-deep snow, getting pelted by angry snowflakes and having your eyelashes freeze shut. Something about that just puts a damper on life, you know?

Warm nights have so much freedom to me. I remember spilling many a secret on a warm summer night, feeling unusually comfortable and sure of things in the dark and the heat. There’s just no rush, to get in before it’s cold, or before your extremities go numb. Time stands still. I love it.

Years and years ago, one of the first times the boyfriend came out to Saskatchewan with me, we drove out to the middle of nowhere. We climbed onto the roof of the car and just lied there, talking for hours, staring at the stars. And it was EXACTLY the temp that it is tonight, I swear.

It reminds me of camping as a kid, when we were allowed to stay up late with the grownups and poke at the fire. It reminds me of entire months where there was no school, no dance class, no alarms, no homework. It reminds me of grade 8, where I walked around the block with my first serious crush at the school play afterparty. It reminds me of drunken nights spent on Toronto patios. It reminds me of silence for some reason, which I love. It reminds me of the countless trips my family made across the prairies, zooming along in the dark coming home from the grandparents, with the windows wide open…..my dad called it 4×100 air conditioning….open all 4 windows, drive 100 km/hr. It reminds me of the stillness right before a wicked thunderstorm. It reminds me of knitting on the porch, forging new friendships a few years back.

It calms me down and makes me believe anything is possible.

It apparently makes me very emo. Meh. It’s my blog, I’ll emo it up if I want to.

And on that note, I have a walk to nowhere that I have to sneak in before bedtime. Mother Nature is going to clue in to the fact that we weren’t supposed to get this weather for a good month and a half or so pretty soon, and I’m going to take advantage of as much of it as I can. Hell, I’m even wearing a skirt! It MUST be affecting me!

Comments on: "Warm Summer Nights" (12)

  1. Haha, I lub you. I’m playing Bright Eyes for you now.

  2. EMO rocks! But ok 27 is warm??? Cuz like here that’s cold. LOL

  3. Oh, btw, you’ve got an award over at my place. I mean my blog place, not my real place. Unless you consider wine an award. Okay so I’ve got two awards then. As long as you remind me to buy more awards. Bottles. Whatever.

  4. Nice post Talea. Enjoyed your meteorological reminiscences. It’s also nice to read that there are places with even longer winters than we have here in mid-state New Hampshire.

    4 x 100 AC 🙂

  5. That cat in your new header is creeping me out. A little.

    I’ll just try not to stare at it …

  6. Emo it up all you want, hon. You have the best posts! really. May you have pleasant 27 degrees for as long as possible. (Gotta love Celcius – at first I was thinking you were being sarcastic: WHat?! 27 degrees (F) is COLD!!!!!)

  7. I imagine it must be hard to feel sexy in a place that’s always cold.

  8. thank you for reminding me why i love to work in the education sector…summer days and nights are all mine!!!

    i think that it helps me stay youthful–i go to graduation every year (never actually graduating), hang out with lots of hormonal teenagers, don’t have kids of my own, and have summers off. it’s the fountain of youth!

  9. I liked your emo episode.

  10. This is beautifully written and really makes me smile to think of your heart filled with such happy memories! Our weather is FINALLY turning too and getting out (usually for me, during the day) is just what the doctor ordered 😉 Ah, makes me feel free and alive too!

  11. Holy shit, it’s almost like you’re happy!? Just kidding, I know you’re happy a lot, I’ve even seen you laugh and smile many a time. I also love the perfect spring and fall evenings. Except for us it’s because we have such a long hot summer that’s it’s nice to be outside without sweating profusely and sticking to yourself. (trust me, that’s bad for romance) And my dad had the same AC joke, except here we call it 440 AC, with four windows down and forty miles per hour. I guess that’s about a hundred KPH, who the frick knows.

  12. I read this and didn’t comment because it made me all emo too.

    Warm nights are full of memories for me too, porch knitting with my ladies is for sure one of the best! 😀

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

