I’ll try being nicer if you try being smarter!

July = Frugal Talea

I spent a lot of money in May and June. I am about to spend a lot of money in August. Turns out, I’m not made of money. I know, I too was shocked.

This July is also one of those fabulous months where I manage to get 3 pay days, instead of the normal 2. I love when that happens.

So I’m officially turning July into my Month of Frugality. No excessive spending. This will mean:

– No new yarn. Even though I am OUT of sock yarn (May, did you hear that?) and I desperately want more. I will not buy it. Sigh. I’m…okay….with that. Yes.
– I will not continue to support Starbucks in their quest for world domination and title of Universal Superpower. In the name of frugality, I shall make every effort to avoid ordering a 5 dollar grande soy non-fat toffee nut latte. I will drink the shitty free coffee at work.
– No takeout. No delivery. I will make my own food and take lunch to work. Thank goodness for Grocery Gateway. No way would I do that if I had to haul groceries back from the store on my own, like a sucker.
– No buying booze.
– No really. I mean it. I can survive without alcohol. I think. I mean….probably. If I have to.
– No using my Visa. I had it all but down to $0 owing and then I went and racked up the damn thing again.

What did I buy??

Oh.

You know.

A wedding dress.

For reals. I did.

In true Talea style, I went to the one store where the manager swore as much as me and told them I wanted to try on one particular dress I’d seen in the window. I didn’t ask them their opinion or look around. No, no.

I put that baby on, decided I looked ABSOLUTELY FUCKING FANTASTIC and that was that. One dress. Done deal. No fuss, no muss.

Apparently I’m getting married. It’s expensive. Please send me money, so I can drink and knit in the meantime. Thanks.

Comments on: "July = Frugal Talea" (8)

  1. I am so hyped. Though I don’t think I’ll ever get over being in a car wash in Etobicoke when you were trying it on. Sorry. Stupid Neon! Anyhoo, I shall take a million photos at your fitting and there’s still the hilarity of dressing us! Ha!

    Ok, as my first bridesmaid duty, I will do my best to help you through this most difficult time. ๐Ÿ˜›

    -you know I have extra sock yarn, you don’t have to go without, MY GAWD WOMAN
    -at least you know you’ll have delivery every Saturday night at Casa May!
    -also, there will be wine every Saturday night at the above address sillyhead!

    My hands are tied with Starbucks and Visa, but 3/5 is pretty good!

    LOL. It’ll at least be a good story…you being in a car wash in Etobicoke. Seriously though dude, you should have been there, it was all kinds of awesome.
    And I was SO hoping that you might temporarily lend me some sock yarn to get me through this awful dry spell. Ahem. Dude, help me pick out what sock to make! Msg me on ravelry. ๐Ÿ˜›
    And dressing you two will be an adventure in itself, this is true!!

  2. whatigotsofar said:

    Well, with a wedding approaching, you really should be holding on to the purse strings. That way, after you get married, you can release all the saving tension and spend the husband’s money, because, at that point, it will also be your money.
    And if you wanna drink, tell your girlfriends that you want a bachelorette party and they’ll buy you drinks all night.

  3. I am also going to try and be frugal this month, I have to save up for your wedding ๐Ÿ˜› But I love you enough to buy a seafoam taffeta dress. Please let me wear a seafoam taffeta dress. I’ll supply you with Jack and thai.

  4. No muss no fuss. One dress and you decided you looked great. YES! Congratulations and why is this not surprising? My daughter got married last August 23. We’ve got a piece of the cake in the freezer for their 1st anniversary. I’m guessing it’s gonna taste like year old cake, though that’s hardly the point …

  5. CONGRATS!!!!!! woo hoo!!!!! I bought the first dress I tried on, too. and even better? my mom was appalled and thought it ‘showed too much’. ha!

  6. great job on the dress–the first (and only) dress i pulled off the rack for my sister was the one she bought. of course she insisted on trying on 100 other dresses, but in the end came back to MY choice. ๐Ÿ™‚

    as for the month of frugality…good luck–you’re half way there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I just noticed Em said that she wants you to put us in seafoam taffeta dresses, I’m down but I think if you’re going to go in that direction, we should wear orange jumpsuits on top of them till we get to the church. Jes? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    P to the S, I’m only posting this because I know he’ll never read this. ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. Courtney said:

    Only one dress…that takes skill. But I can only imagine you look beautiful in it!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

